“Follow-Up Post: Autistic Teen involved in Hit-and-Run Accident Dies.” By Terence Morris, Founder, PACE TULSA AGS FOUNDATION. May 18, 2017 11:32 AM. Join PACE TULSA NOW…TEXT: PACEPAC TO: 22828 OR Register | Lost your password?.
“Unfortunately, after 16 year old Swishers’ efforts to recover in Intensive Care…he dies because of multiple injuries sustained in a hit-and-run accident. The man, 26 year old Dereco Foster, accused of striking a teenager with an SUV was arrested in Tulsa on Friday. The teen was left lying in the road near the accident. Later in ICU he died.”
Unable to recognize the instructions on the Pedestrian Crosswalk signs after darting into traffic from his mothers care the teen became another fatality in Tulsa, Oklahoma.
Charles Bryan Alred, Attorney at Law
Hit-and-run accidents such as these can cause serious personal injuries, whether the accident involves another vehicle or a pedestrian. Under Oklahoma law, anyone involved in a car accident that results in personal injury has a duty to remain on the scene until emergency personnel arrive. The driver must provide “reasonable assistance” to injured persons, which includes helping them get to a doctor. The driver must also provide accurate information about himself: his name, address, the registration number of his vehicle, his driver’s license and proof of car insurance.
Consequences of Leaving the Scene of an Accident
Drivers who hit-and-run face serious consequences. The penalties depend on whether the accident resulted in property damage, personal injury or death:
- Property Damage — If the accident only involved property damage and the driver leaves the scene, he can be charged with a misdemeanor and sentenced to one year in prison and fined $500. If the injured person brings a personal injury lawsuit, the driver could be ordered to pay damages three times greater than the damages incurred in the accident.
- Personal Injury — If the accident results in personal injury, the driver who flees the scene can be charged with a felony and sentenced to two years in prison and fined $1,000. His driver’s license will also be revoked.
- Death — If the accident results in death, the hit-and-run driver can be charged with a felony punishable by 10 years in prison and a $10,000 fine. His driver’s license will also be revoked.
What You should do If ever Injured in a Hit-and-Run Accident?
If possible be sure to get the driver’s name, address, the registration number of his vehicle, his driver’s license and proof of car insurance. If you are injured by a hit-and-run driver, you are entitled to three times more damages than the actual damages you suffered in the accident. That type of damages award is designed to compensate you for your medical bills, property damage and other expenses, as well as to punish the hit-and-run driver for breaking the law.
File A Oklahoma Collision Report
COPYRIGHT© 2019 | PACE TULSA AGS FOUNDATION. “Pedestrian Awareness Crosswalk Education is an online think-tank intersecting awareness of public transportation policy in the United States.”